top of page

The Ashes In The Shadows

The Ashes In The Shadows 


(Verse 1) 

Was any of it real, this love we knew?  

Gazing deep with your eyes of brown, so surreal,  

In your mind, I was a dream spun tight,  

But where did my love go, lost from sight?


(Pre-Chorus)  

You never cherished my flaws with grace,  

While I let yours slide, a quiet embrace,  

I became routine, dull and gray,  

Now you live without me, day by day.


(Chorus)

I yearn for you, but can't bear the pain,  

Was my youth just fuel for your gain?  

I don’t miss what we had, just you,  

A masterpiece you once held true.


(Verse 2)

Displayed on your mantle, a treasure so bright,  

Then cast aside, in the fireplace, out of light,  

In public, you held me, kissed me so sweet,  

Alone, you fell into oblivion, a bitter retreat.


(Pre-Chorus)

I can’t believe I still crave to return,  

Yet the thought of it makes my nerves burn,  

Should I surrender or chase dreams that just sit and gleam,

Accept a “one day” that’s not what it seems?


(Chorus)

Why did you dream of yourself in our bed?  

Will you confess the truths left unsaid?  

Am I no longer what you need?  

I gave my all, but grew weak.


(Bridge)

In return, only cold resistance and disdain,  

You deserve solitude, but letting go is a chain,  

You’ll sink into despair and endless chore,  

Yet change remains a distant shore.


(Verse 3) 

You dimmed my light, stole my spark,  

Said I was your best, then left me in the dark,  

Your words were sweet but turned to dust,  

Jealousy and harshness left me to adjust.


(Chorus)

Push my love away like a loaded gun,  

You never thought I’d be the one to run,  

Now I forgive, though it’s hard to part,  

Everything is on your terms, tearing me apart.


(Outro)

Now I forgive, though it’s hard to let go,  

Everything is on your terms, tearing me apart,,  

In the shadows of love, where we once danced,  

I find my strength, and take my final chance.


-aubs

July 31, 2024

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page